10 Best Fantasy Book Covers (Jul-Dec 2020)

10 Best Fantasy Book Covers (Jul-Dec 2020) - Reading List by Novels and Nebulas

I’m sure I’m not the only one who gets a little click-happy when I see pretty covers. Today I bring to you all my aesthetically pleasing favourites hoping to persuade you into adding them to your TBRs as well. I put in a lot of research into picking books that I’ve not seen a lot of hype around. True to my style, they are all diverse books across middle grade, young adult and adult age ranges. Are you ready to discover these lesser-known titles with the best book covers coming out between Jul-Dec 2020?

July 2020

The Beast Warrior by Nahoko Uehashi

Best Book Covers Jul-Dec 2020 - The Beast Warrior by Nahoko Uehashi

Age range: Young Adult

Release date: July 28th

This is the second instalment in a Japanese series that is being translated into English by Cathy Hirano. The first book has a similar cover and I really love the art style used because it gives a very whimsical vibe. I’ve heard good things about the first book and really excited to see how the sequel shapes up!

Add to Goodreads

August 2020

Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch by Julie Abe

Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch by Julie Abe

Age range: Middle Grade

Release date: August 4th

I had the privilege of watching the author talk about this book in an online panel and I’m devastated that it’s getting so little hype. I love the use of green on this cover because it really accentuates the witchy vibe. I’ve been craving for a diverse magical middle grade book and this is being marketed for fans of Aru Shah, so of course it ended up on my TBR.

Add to Goodreads

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears by Taylor Kay Meija

Best Book Covers Jul-Dec 2020 - Paola Santiago and the River of Tears by Taylor Kay Meija

Age range: Middle Grade

Release date: August 4th

The way the bookish community continues to laud Uncle Rick for being an ally but sleeps on his Rick Riordan Presents line gets on my nerves every time I think about it. I don’t have much to say about this book besides the fact that it’s an #OwnVoices story based on Mexican folklore. Paola loves astronomy like I do, so I’m really excited to read more about her!

Add to Goodreads

Crowning Soul by Sahira Javaid

Crowning Soul by Sahira Javaid

Age range: Young adult

Release date: August 9th

This book caught my attention when my friend Krisha @ Bookathon did a cover reveal for it. I have a thing for blades on a fantasy cover and this one looks glorious coupled with a badass wielder like Nezha! The book promises fire magic, djinns, secrets, high-stakes plot and unicorns.

Add to Goodreads

September 2020

The Bookweaver’s Daughter by Malavika Kannan

Best Book Covers Jul-Dec 2020 - The Bookweaver's Daughter by Malavika Kannan

Age range: Young Adult

Release date: September 8th

If you didn’t know this already about me, I’m here to tell you I absolutely adore covers that have starry backgrounds. This is an Indian-inspired #OwnVoices book written when the author was a mere 17 years old! I’m so glad the hype for this is gathering steam because Caffeine Book Tours just announced their blog tour for it.

Add to Goodreads

Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron

Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron

Age range: Middle Grade

Release date: September 22nd

This is another magical middle grade adventure book based on mythology – this time it’s African. The author’s young adult book made quite a splash last year but I’m not seeing the same level of enthusiasm for this one, which disappoints me. Early reviews tell me that the author subverts the chosen one trope in this, which took my excitement for it up a notch!

Add to Goodreads

Burning Roses by S. L. Huang

Best Book Covers Jul-Dec 2020 - Burning Roses by S. L. Huang

Age range: Adult

Release date: September 29th

As an adult who is still in love with the fairytales from my childhood, I’m always up for stories that draw from those. I haven’t ready any of S. L. Huang’s works yet but I’m really curious to see what she brings to the literary world from her stuntwoman background. This follows middle-aged Red Riding Hood and an archer who just want to live a quiet life but are forced to make a stand when deadly creatures start to stir again.

Add to Goodreads

October 2020

The Bladebone by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The Bladebone by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Age range: Adult

Release date: October 4th

This is the last book in The Khorosan Archives and perfect for people who love to consume an entire series at once. I prefer the UK cover for this book because I have an undying love for the purple and gold colour combination. From the synopsis of the first book, it seems like an epic tale of political intrigue, power struggles and rebellion.

Add to Goodreads

Girl Giant and the Monkey King by Van Hoang

Best Book Covers Jul-Dec 2020 - Girl Giant and the Monkey King by Van Hoang

Age range: Middle Grade

Release date: October 6th

I honestly can’t get enough of #OwnVoices mythology-inspired middle grade and this book features a famous figure from Chinese culture, the Monkey King. The cover screams middle grade with the artwork style and the colours are so pleasing to look at! It follows a 12-year-old who decides to get rid of her super-strength by striking a deal with the Monkey King and I’m guessing everything goes spectacularly wrong from there.

Add to Goodreads

The Midnight Bargain by C. L. Polk

The Midnight Bargain by C. L. Polk

Age range: Adult

Release date: October 13th

I cannot believe Book Twitter hasn’t collectively lost its mind over this gorgeous cover yet but I’m hoping this will become more visible closer to release date. C. L. Polk is a critically acclaimed fantasy author and it’s a shame I haven’t read any of her books yet. The synopsis gave me a Jane Austen with magic vibes and I’m guessing this would end up on many TBRs after that comparison.

Add to Goodreads

Further Reading

Novels and NebulasTop 10 Exciting SFF Releases of July 2020

What do you think of these covers? Do you have a similar list of the best book covers of titles releasing between Jul-Dec 2020? How much does a pretty book cover influence your buying habits? Let me know in the comments section down below. Hope you are having a magical week, readers from Earth!

Save the Post for Later

10 Best Fantasy Book Covers (Jul-Dec 2020) - Reading List by Novels and Nebulas

26 thoughts on “10 Best Fantasy Book Covers (Jul-Dec 2020)”

    1. Finally someone who’s also into middle grade! 😍 There are so many amazing books coming out in the second half being marketed for fans of Rick Riordan and I’m loving that. I hope you enjoy! 💖

      1. Oh I love MG so much especially MG fantasy, especially if there’s Rick Riordan name on the cover. In fact, I’m reading one of RR present book right now, Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Universe. Have you read that one?

        1. Sadly, the only ones from RR I’ve read are Aru Shah and The Dragon Pearl. 🙈 I really want to fix that and read the J. C. Cervantes and this one before there are too many to catch up on. How are you liking it?

  1. OMG DINI IM CRYING AT THE SHEER BEAUTY OF THIS POST 😭😭😭

    im glad to see a lot of MG books here because i’ve been reading them lately. im definitely saving this post for later because i can’t wait to check these books out!

    1. Ahhh, thank you, Rain! 💕 More people need to read MG because I need more people to fangirl with. Also, pretty much every MG book on here is being marketed for fans of Rick Riordan, which we both are, so I think it’s going to be a very good year ahead indeed. 😍

  2. Wow.. so many I didn’t know about… I’m gonna checkout if I can find them and add to my tbr because I totally trust your recs and they all look so gorgeous 😍😍
    And I did manage to get the ARCs of The Midnight Bargain and Burning Roses and I’m so excited to read them … they both have such beautiful covers !!!

    1. Thank you, Sahi! 💕 You’ve really leaned into your adult fantasy kick, haven’t you? So glad to see you with ARCs for all the amazing upcoming releases! I hope you enjoy them both! 💖

      1. Have I really leaned into it though 😬😬 I do have quite a few amazing ARCs and I just have to make sure I read them when I’m in the right headspace and do justice to them… otherwise, my whole reading year seems to have gone by in a blur and I sometimes can’t even recollect what books I enjoyed.. it’s awful 😭😭
        But thank you so much for being there !!!! And Hope you are having a good reading time 😊😊

        1. Oh no, I’m sorry, Sahi! I guess blogging really helps to recollect your favourites and document them. So if you’re ever feeling down, just go over your old posts. I’m sure you’ll feel more motivated. Thank you for being there as well! 💖

          1. That’s so true. My blog really has become my memory now and I love going back to my reviews to see what I thought as well as how I wrote … sometimes I feel like I’ve forgotten how to write good reviews and I definitely need the reminder 😂😂

  3. GOOD GRAVY THOSE COVERS!!! 😍😍😍 I’m particularly gaga for The Beast Order and Eva Evergreen, I mean, WOW! And I’ve added Maya and the Rising Dark to my fall 2020 order for school because I think my students are going to freak over how amazing it looks.

    1. I’m so glad you liked them as well! 💖 I really hope both you and your students love Maya. I’m sure I would have been a huge fan if I’d read these books when I was a kid – back then there wasn’t much diversity. 🙈

  4. AH what a stunning selection of book covers, thank you for sharing! 😍 I love the one for The Bookweaver’s Daughter and The Midnight Bargain SO MUCH!

    1. Thank you, Marie! 💖 I’m really looking forward to The Bookweaver’s Daughter because I’m OwnVoices for it. 😊 The cover for The Midnight Lie left me speechless and I’m wondering why Book Twitter isn’t coveting this already. I hope it gets the appreciation it deserves! 💕

Leave a trail of stardust